Area volleyball players collect L&C honors

HARTINGTON —  Wynot and Hartington-Newcastle volleyball players dominated the list of Central Division Lewis and Clark All Conference players this season.

The 2016 D2 state runner-up Wynot girls  proved to be a very solid team all year.

The Lady Devils were led by seniors Cortney Arkfeld, Skylar Arkfeld, Carissa Kuchta and Cortney Linder. All four were First Team selections on the Central Division All Conference Team this year.

Holly Lauer, Wynot, also received an honorable mention.

Cortney Arkfeld, a 5-9 middle hitter, dominated the competition this year, helping the Lady Blue Devils put together one of their best years in school history.

She led the team in kills, putting up 304 during the regular season making her the third most prolific spiker in this year’s Class D2 State Tournament.

She also led the team in digs with 307 and in blocks with 79 on the season.

Three Hartington-Newcastle players helped Wynot make up a majority of the Central Division All Conference Team. Seniors Courtney Pick, Sophie Noecker, and Sydney Lammers all received All Conference honors. Senior Ryley Eickoff received an Honorable Mention. The Wildcats lost to town rival Cedar Catholic during Sub Districts, but still had a great season.

In the East Division, senior Kaci Groene, LCC, received an All Conference honor. Her teammates Bryn Schutte, junior, and Katie Leapley, senior, received Honorable Mentions. The LCC squad had its struggles this season, losing to Crofton during Sub Districts to end their season.

The Randolph girls had three players honored with West Division All Conference honors. Seniors and Captains, Alyssa Fye and Maggie Gall, along with junior, Carlee Thies, led their team throughout the season and were recognized for their roles. Junior Mollie Lemmons received an Honorable Mention as well. The Randolph team had a rollercoaster season, constantly fighting for a .500 record. They won their last match against Osmond to finish the season 12-13.

Lewis & Clark Conference

Central Division All Conference Team

Cortney Arkfeld Sr. Wynot

Skylar Arkfeld Sr. Wynot

Courtney Pick Sr. Hartington-Newcastle

Alex Bargstadt Sr. Winside

Sophie Noecker Sr. Hartington-Newcastle

Carissa Kuchta Sr. Wynot

Callie Finn Sr. Winside

Bri Hingst Jr. Allen

Cortney Linder Sr. Wynot

Sydney Lammers Sr. Hartington-Newcastle

Honorable Mention

Andi Bargstadt Winside

Holly Lauer Sr. Wynot

Cassie Thomas So. Allen

Ryley Eickoff Sr. Hartington-Newcastle

TomiSalie Parker Jr. Walthill

Stephanie Grant Jr. Walthill

Alyssa Brogren Winside

East Division All Conference Team

Daeja Ford Sr. Homer

Elizabeth Watchorn Sr. Ponca

Sadie Finnegan Sr. Ponca

Kaci Groene Sr. LCC

Megan Borg Sr. Wakefield

Rachel Bentz Sr. Ponca

Keali Mari Sr. Homer

Caleigh Mackling Sr. Emerson-Hubbard

Savanna Nelson Sr. Wakefield

Sophie Kramper Jr. Ponca

Honorable Mention

Kylie Murphy Sr. Homer

Katlin Bodlak Sr. Homer

Jessica Borg So. Wakefield

Guilia Ballarini Sr. Wakefield

Byn Schutte Jr. LCC

Katie Leapley Sr. LCC

Skye Miller Sr. Emerson-Hubbard

Allie Frenchman Sr. Winnebago

Deonna Harris Jr. Winnebago

Abigail Van Dyke Fr. Ponca

West Division All Conference Team

Maycey Forker Sr. Creighton

Maggie Gall Sr. Randolph

MaKayla Brockhaus Sr. Creighton

Carlee Thies Jr. Randolph

Caitlin Kumm Jr. Osmond

Kylie Mosel So. Plainview

Regan Hennings Sr. Wausa

Alyssa Fye Sr. Randolph

Leah Poppe Sr. Bloomfield

Carissa Wacker Fr. Plainview

Honorable Mention

Kirsten Adams So. Creighton

Bailey Zimmerer Sr. Creighton

Mollie Lemmons Jr. Randolph

Hannah Gutz Sr. Osmond

Hailey Johnson Sr. Osmond

Claire Lundberg Jr. Wausa