Wildcats finish with a perfect 8-0 mark

EMERSON —  The Hartington Wildcats took control early, then cruised to a 30-12 win over Emerson-Hubbard to win the District title and complete an undefeated regular season.

“We won every game and I am very proud of our players.  A district championship is very special and our team deserved it,” Coach Blair Kalin said. “They have worked very hard all season and they play very well as a team.”

Despite the 18-point win, the Cats faced a very tough team in the Pirates, Coach Kalin said.

“Emerson needed to win to get into the playoffs and they played like it,” he said.

Nick Miller once again led the  Hartington ground attack, racing past the defense for 164 yards on 25 carries. He also ran for three touchdowns and passed for another during the contest.

“Our line performed well and allowed us to run the ball pretty well,” Kalin said.

All-State contender Reece Pedersen once again led the Wildcat defense, collecting 15 tackles to improve upon his county-best totals.

The Cats found the endzone twice in the first frame to take a 16-6 lead at the end of the first quarter.

Hartington got on the scoreboard first when Miller found an opening then raced by the Pirate defense enroute to a 41-yard TD run. Kolby Jueden connected with Adam Hochstein for the two-point conversion.

The Wildcats found paydirt again when Miller got loose on a 16-yard TD run. He also bulled his way across the line on the conversion play.

Miller completed a solid second-quarter drive with a one-yard touchdown run.

The home team pushed one more score across the line in the third quarter, but Hartington sealed the win with a fourth-quarter TD pass from Miler to Eric Derickson.

Hartington Public 16 6 0 8 —30

Emerson-Hubbard 6 0 6 0 — 12


H.P.S. E.H.S.

First Downs 14 6

Penalties 4 3

Penalty Yards 20 15

Rushing 34-221 53-108

Passing 4-9-38 4-12-9

Receiving 4-38 4-9



Hartington-Nick Miller, 25-164; Eric Derickson, 6-62; Kolby Jueden, 1-4; Taylor Fischer, 1-1; Pat Wortmann, 1-0.


Hartington-Nick Miller, 4-8-38; Kolby Jueden, 0-1-0.



Hartington-Ethan Morten, 1-17; Eric Derickson, 2-11; Joe Noecker, 1-10.


Hartington-Reece Pedersen, 15; Ty Dybdal, 10; Pat Wortmann, 9; Eric Derikson, 8; Nick Miller, 5; Adam Hochstein, 4; Jordan Menning, 4; Riley Haug, 2; Joe Noecker, 1.