Athletes earn Academic All State honors

Cody Fischer and Alec Fuelberth, Courtney Hochstein and Whitney Driver

LINCOLN – Several area athletes are being honored for their combined athletic and academic skills.
The Nebraska School Activities Association does this by recognizing the Nebraska High School students who have earned the 2011 NSAA Winter Academic All-State Award.

This NSAA program recognizes students who meet the criteria for nomination by their school in the season of their activity.Neil Kramer earned the Academic All State honor as a member of the Hartington Public School basketball team.
Hartington’s Cody Fischer and Gabriel Scoville were also honored by the NSAA for their efforts in Speech.
At Cedar Catholic, Andy Moser and Kyle Klug were named as members of the Academic All State team.
Kendra Lammers and Shanna Leise were named to the Academic All State team for their roles on the Cedar Catholic girls’ basketball team.
Tyler Loberg and Michael Wuebben earned Academic All State honors as members of the Cedar Catholic wrestling team.

Cedar Catholic Speech team members Carrie Burbach  and Megan Kaiser also earned Academic All State honors.
At Wynot, Devin Wieseler and Michael Wieseler were both tabbed as members of the Academic All State team for boys basketball.
Bailey Kuchta and Shelby Wieseler earned Academic All State honors for girls’ basketball. Mitchell Bruening and  Falon Goetz also earned Academic All State status for their roles in the Wynot Speech  team.
The following leadership and scholarship guidelines apply to all of the students receiving this honor:
A nominated student must be a varsity player or organizational leader who has played a significant role on the team or in the organizational activity that season.
A nominated student must have a minimum cumulative grade point average, in all curricular subjects, of 3.7 on a 4.0-point scale or the equivalent, (93% or A-, etc.).