Two local lawmakers won't seek office again

HARTINGTON — Hartington Public School Board President Steve Grube and Hartington City Councilman Ed Bottolfsen will not seek re-election to office this year.
Grube has served as the President of the Hartington School board for the past five years. He has served on the board since 2000.

Grube said he gained a lot from serving on the Hartington School Board.
“It has been a true learning experience,” said Grube. “I enjoyed it. I would encourage people to come to the school board meetings.”
Grube said even though he is ending his public service to the school board, he may consider public service again in the future.
“I may try something new. There are a lot of opportunities to serve different organizations in this community” he said.
Bottolfsen was appointed to fill the unexpired term of  Gerald Konken. He then earned a four-year term of his own on the Council.
Candidates have until March 3 at 5 p.m. to file a petition with the Cedar County Clerk’s office to seek these seats or any other elected position up for election this year.
Bottolfsen said a busy schedule made him decide not to file for re-election.
“I will just be too busy. There are some business changes and I will be tied down more than before,” said Bottolfsen. “There are good people on the Council; I have been happy working with them. It was a very good experience to see how the city operates.”
Bottolfsen has almost one year to finish out his term, which ends at the end of this year.
“I will finish out my term. This way other people can file and go through the election process,” Bottolfsen said.
Tim Burbach, the other Hartington City Council member up for election, has filed the necessary paperwork to seek another term on the Council.
Hartington School Board incumbents Ron Pearson and Wendy Sudbeck have both filed petitions for re-election. Doug Miller, who has not held an elected office before, has also filed for a seat on the board.
Only one county official, Marlen Kraemer of Laurel, is up for election this year. Kraemer has filed for another term on the Cedar County Commission. He has been on that Board since 1986.  Jack McCarthey, a Democrat from Randolph, has filed to oppose him.

The Wynot School Board will have to find three new board members this year, as all three of the incumbents up for re-election — Kevin Klug, Tammi Wiepen and Darryl Sudbeck — all decided not to seek another term on the board.

All four of the people up for re-election on the Coleridge Community School Board have decided  to run for another term. Karla Hansen, Robert Colwell, and Marlen Papenhausen will all seek four-year terms on the board. Loren Paulsen will seek another two-year term on the Board.
In Laurel, Mayor Logan Garber has agreed to run for another term in office. He will be joined on the City Council by two newcomers, however, as incumbents Gerald Cunningham and Scott Rath decided against another term on the City Council.

Del Hemsath has filed a petition to seek the four-year East Ward seat held by Cunningham. No one has stepped forward yet to file for Rath’s seat on the Board.
Incumbent Ben Galvin is the only member of the Laurel-Concord School Board who chose not to seek another term on that board. Richard Brandow and Mike Dietrich have filed for another term on the board, as has Garry Anderson.

Two members of the Randolph School Board will seek another term on that board. Incumbents Tim Kint and Michael Strathman will seek four-year terms on the board. Incumbent Greg Robinson will not seek another term in office.